Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

The Humber LEP has today announced it has refreshed the private sector members of its board to help drive economic growth in the region. The restructure has been made in response to the LEP’s expanding role, with new responsibilities and funding being channelled through it by Government.

Two new Vice Chairs, Mike Parker of Grimsby Institute and Tim Rix of JR Rix and Sons, join Chair Lord Haskins to lead the new Humber LEP board.

Further appointments have been made to lead new sub-groups responsible for delivering key parts of the Humber’s growth agenda.

Mike Parker will also lead a new Employment and Skills Board, responsible for developing and delivering an Employment and Skills Strategy for the Humber in partnership with education providers. This will include taking forward the recommendations of the LEP’s Skills Commission and the Government’s response to Lord Heseltine’s review.  Mike will be joined by three further board appointments Nina Stobart of Phillips 66, Tony Ogden, Immingham Site Manager of BOC UK & Ireland and Paul Sewell, Managing Director of Sewell Group

David Kilburn, Founder and Executive Chairman of  MKM Building Supplies is re-appointed to the LEP board and will continue to lead the Investment Board, responsible for allocating business funding and grants such as the Regional Growth Fund 3 and the LEP’s £7m Business Loan Fund.

Peter Aarosin, director of several companies including Danbrit Shipping, that operate in sea and road-based logistics around the world, will Chair a new Marketing Board, responsible for developing and implementing a consolidated Humber Estuary marketing and international trade plan.

Lindsay West, Joint Managing Director of Garthwest, will Chair a SME Support Committee, responsible for co-ordinating local business support provision.

Additional new board members are John Fitzgerald, Port Director of ABP Grimsby & Immingham, Richard Adams, Vice President of the Hull & Humber Chamber of Commerce and SCT Implementation Manager at Tata Steel Europe, and Gary Warke, Chief Executive of Hull College Group who Chairs the Humber LEP Skills Network. In addition, Peter Stephenson, Founder and Executive Chairman of Able UK is re-appointed to the board.

Commenting on the restructure of the Humber LEP board, Lord Haskins, Chair of the Humber LEP, said: “The role and expectations of Local Enterprise Partnerships have changed, partly in response to the new responsibilities coming from Government, so we are adapting to fit. We have the right mix of talent in place now in the Partnership to take on a crucial role in driving growth in the Humber.”

The Partnership has secured the largest Enterprise Zone in the country along with £65m of Regional Growth Funding and has gained agreement on a five year Plan for the Humber.

This momentum is being carried forward through the delivery of the Plan for the Humber, along with opportunities including pathfinder work on Lord Heseltine’s proposal for new pioneering ways of economic development and negotiating City Deal status which would see powers devolved to the region.

For further information on the Humber LEP visit

Full list of Humber LEP board members

  • Chair – Lord Christopher Haskins of Skidby

Private sector members:

  • Vice Chair – Mike Parker, Chair of Governors, Grimsby Institute Group
  • Vice Chair – Tim Rix, Managing Director, JR Rix and Sons
  • Peter Aarosin, Managing Director, Danbrit Shipping
  • Richard Adams, Vice President of the Hull & Humber Chamber of Commerce and SCT Implementation Manager at Tata Steel Europe
  • John Fitzgerald, Port Director, Associated British Ports (ABP) Grimsby & Immingham
  • David Kilburn, Founder and Executive Chairman, MKM Building Supplies
  • Tony Ogden, Immingham Site Manager, BOC UK & Ireland
  • Paul Sewell, Managing Director, Sewell Group
  • Peter Stephenson, Founder and Executive Chairman, Able UK
  • Nina Stobart, PR & Communications, Phillips 66
  • Lindsay West, Joint Managing Director, Garthwest.

Public sector members:

  • Professor Calie Pistorius, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hull
  • Gary Warke, Chief Executive, Hull College Group
  • Councillor Martin Mancey, Portfolio Holder for Energy City, Hull City Council
  •  Councillor Stephen Parnaby OBE, Leader of East Riding of Yorkshire Council
  •  Councillor Liz Redfern, Leader of North Lincolnshire Council
  •  Councillor Chris Shaw, Leader of North East Lincolnshire Council / Councillor Peter Wheatley, Portfolio Holder for Regeneration and Environment (to be confirmed following North East Lincolnshire Council annual meeting).