Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

The Skills Commission was established to take a long-term look at skills issues in the Humber and opportunities emerging from national skills policy.

The Commission was chaired by Nic Dakin MP with members including: Lord Haskins, Chair of the Humber LEP, and representatives of major local employers, key agencies, schools and colleges.

The Commission collected evidence from a range of organisations and sectors about barriers and issues that the Humber faces in terms of skills, training and employment, as well as some of the key strategic initiatives that are being developed in response to these challenges.

Analysis of the evidence will start to shape the potential content of the skills section of a City Deal submission, as well as providing a basis for determining the key priorities for the Humber LEP in relation to skills. The final, interactive report can be downloaded here

  List of Members:

Electrical InstallationMetal work

Malcolm Joslin – BP

Colin Saywell – Baysgarth School

Pauline Davis – Hull City Council

Derek Branton – East Riding College

Ian Bishop – Tata Steel

Kevin Childs – Novartis

Margaret Hicks – Press Association

Michelle Watson – Hull University

Nina Stobart – Phillips 66

Sam Whitaker – Esteem Ltd